School Choice Supporters Victorious in Tennessee Legislative Races

The American Federation for Children, the nation’s voice for educational choice, congratulates the winning candidates who support educational choice on their successes in Tennessee’s 2020 General Election. The election results are in line with numerous public polls that have found strong support for school choice.

Statement from Shaka Mitchell, Tennessee State Director for the American Federation for Children:

“We applaud the work of the Tennessee Federation for Children PAC and are proud to see the large number of candidates for the Tennessee House of Representatives and the Tennessee Senate who agree that a high-quality education, including parental choice options, is a pathway to success for Tennessee students. We congratulate each on their wins, and look forward to working with them to create an even better environment where parents can choose the right educational option for their family.”

“In particular, we congratulate Representative Mark White, who as the Chair of the House Education Committee has been an important voice for Tennessee students. With his recent appointment by U.S. Secretary of Education Betsy DeVos to the National Assessment Governing Board, with a term ending in 2024, we look forward to his positive impact on education policy for years to come.”


The American Federation for Children is pleased to congratulate the following successful candidates supported by the Tennessee Federation for Children PAC:

✓ Representative Jerome Moon (House District 8)
✓ Michele Carringer (House District 16)
✓ Eddie Mannis (House District 18)
✓ Representative Robin Smith (House District 26)
✓ Representative Charlie Baum (House District 37)
✓ Representative Mike Sparks (House District 49)
✓ Representative Rusty Grills (House District 77)
✓ Representative Chris Hurt (House District 82)
✓ Representative Mark White (House District 83)
✓ John Gillespie (House District 97)
✓ Senator Jon Lundberg (Senate District 4)
✓ Senator Shane Reeves (Senate District 14)
✓ Senator Bill Powers (Senate District 22)
✓ Senator John Stevens (Senate District 24)
✓ Page Walley (Senate District 26)
✓ Senator Paul Rose (Senate District 32)